PDA

View Full Version : Mantis ID (video)...

djborrmann
07/07/2003, 05:04 PM
I'm new to mantis keeping. I have this mantis in a 30Gal glass tank. He is about 5.5 inches. Is this a standard "peacock". Don't know the scientific name. Sorry about the cloudy video. He/she really kicks up the sand when he's walking around.

Can I feed the mantis a crayfish/lobster that is larger than he, or will the lobster/crayfish do damage to the mantis? I just wanted to give him/her a treat (and see the mantis feed), but if it's no treat, I won't bother.

Also, there are white patches on the tail. You can see it on the video. Is this a shell disease, or is this normal?

http://homepage.mac.com/WebObjects/FileSharing.woa/wa/default?user=jasonborrmann&templatefn=FileSharing10.html&xmlfn=TKDocument.10.xml&sitefn=RootSite.xml&aff=consumer&cty=US&lang=en

Thanks.
Jason Borrmann

djborrmann
07/07/2003, 05:11 PM
Try here instead...

http://homepage.mac.com/jasonborrmann/FileSharing12.html

Jason

RogueCorps
07/07/2003, 06:10 PM
Hey Jason,

Guessing by color, I'd say that it's a Male Odontodactylus Scyllarus (Peacock). I can't make out any markings on it's tail but the shell disease on our O.S. when we got her was orange including one hole completely through her shell above one dactyl. I think more than just white spots, look for deterioration on the shell. Pretty cool video tho.

IMO trying to feed it an animal much larger than it is just unnecessarily risking injury. It's also way more food than it can probably handle and any excess will pollute the tank. I believe in one of Roy's posts he stated that mantises will attack prey for the greatest calorie benefit and least effort to kill first, so while O.S.s are more than capable of taking out bigger animals they'd probably defend against one before choosing to eat one. The thing that worries me most is that eye stalks don't grow back if decapitated.

I just wouldn't chance the life of a pet for a little gladiatorial entertainment.