PDA

View Full Version : Opinions on new LTA please

homegrownREEFER
01/06/2012, 04:00 PM
Hey everybody, please bear with me I am still very new to all of this. So my tank is just about 6 months old now and I have been testing my water a lot and it seems to have been pretty stable for quite a while now. I decided to take a shot at an anemone. This is my first anemone and it is an LTA from DD. I received it yesterday so these pics are about 24 hours since introduction to my tank. It is very small, I'd say its foot is about 1inch and the oral disk around 3inches. DD had it listed as 3-3.5 inches.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/s720x720/402579_10151120979270181_732980180_22471091_1968354022_n.jpg

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/s720x720/398485_10151120980270181_732980180_22471095_1369199601_n.jpg

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/s720x720/377413_10151120979635181_732980180_22471093_1969723750_n.jpg

I know it has only been 24 hours but i was getting nervous yesterday since i tried to plant it a few time and every time it would undig itself. So i figured let me leave it be so I don't stress it anymore. Left it alone from last night till today until I got home it seems to have dug itself in! :spin1: Yesterday I had to turn off my MP40 and have the MP10 at 10& in order for it not to move. Now I have the MP10 up to 50% and the MP40 at about 15-20% and still not moving. So how does it look since I don't know what to look for? How is the mouth. I seen the mouth open a little before and a little black string come out but now its gone and closed up. I assume it was food? Thanks in advance.

elegance coral
01/06/2012, 05:12 PM
It looks relatively healthy. It's really hard to be sure from the pic's, but it looks more like quadricolor than doreensis????????

The black string was zooxanthellae. It's typical for them to release some after shipping. I wouldn't worry about it, unless it continues.

homegrownREEFER