PDA

View Full Version : Forget tank size or anything else. Whats the best pulling skimmer u have seen?

csmfish
01/24/2012, 11:48 AM
Now, I am not talking about a skimmer in a trash can of dead fish carcasses. I am talking about skimmers that pull things out you would have never thought you had in the tank, like, say, 1 damsel in a 210 tank.

Brand and model please..... :fish2:

ezerasurfr
01/24/2012, 12:41 PM
None of my skimmers have ever pulled a fish out of the water....even if it was a damsel :P

philosophile
01/24/2012, 12:45 PM
Well, I just upgraded from a 30 gallon tank, to a 90 gallon tank, and from a AquaC Remora to a Reef Octopus XPS1000SSS. Even before any fish were in there, I just had some live rock I had been cooking for two months, and in two days, the skimmer pulled some pretty nasty crap out of the water. About 5 cups of it. So I was pretty impressed to say the least. I don't think my AquaC had ever pulled anything equivalent in the year that I used it.

csmfish
01/24/2012, 12:48 PM
None of my skimmers have ever pulled a fish out of the water....even if it was a damsel :P

Sounds like you need to either clean it or get yourself a new one! :lol:

a.browning
01/24/2012, 01:01 PM
+1 to Super Reef Octopus. Extremely good skimmer.

ja4207
01/24/2012, 01:05 PM
Reeflo pro I, II and III..... Amazing is all I can say.

Green Chromis
01/24/2012, 01:14 PM
ETSS are the best skimmers I've ever owned an I have used a lot of different skimmers. :) Never caught a fish in one.

cjk76
01/24/2012, 01:19 PM
I think he was asking what pulled small amounts of wastes out of a large amount of water... not a fish out of an aquarium. haha.

If you have a small fish in a large aquarium, the waste will build up slowly until it is enough to skim. Then the skimmer will skim a large amount out and the cycle will start again. Just get a skimmer that can handle you final bioload.

csmfish
01/24/2012, 02:09 PM