PDA

View Full Version : How much to feed tank?

NikeLV
01/25/2012, 11:01 PM
Hey RC! I really want to know if I am feeding my tank to little, just right, or too much. I currently feed Hikari Mysis 1 day, Spirulina Brine the 2nd day, and Ocean Plankton the 3rd day and repeat. I feed one cube a day, everyday: 1/3 in the morning, 1/3 in the afternoon and the rest in the evening. I have 5 food-aggressive Lyretail Anthias, 1 ocellaris clownfish, 1 coral beauty angel, and a small Blue Tang. I also feed a 2x2 sheet of Red Marine Algae every other day to my Blue Tang. How is my feeding method?

Aside from all this, I feed Coral Frenzy every 3 days and Kent Marine Phyto/Zoo occasionally to feed my sps coral

BTW, how is Nutramar Ova prawn eggs? is that only effective for small fish? can bigger fish such as Lyretail Anthias eat it as a day's meal?

How much do YOU guys feed your amount of fish?

Virtuoso
01/25/2012, 11:22 PM
I am still new to all this, especially the feeding schedule, but that sounds pretty ideal to me. Clearly, you've put a lot of thought into it.

ReefHoboBum
01/25/2012, 11:25 PM
That seems like a lot to me, how many fish and how big is your tank?

sporto0
01/25/2012, 11:47 PM
All floating food should be consumed ideally in 2 minutes, anything still visible after that means your feeding too much at one time. In my personal opinion, feeding Coral Frenzy every 3 days is way too much, I use that once or twice a month if I'm feeling generous. On the other hand I always keep an algae clip full for my tangs or at least once a day. I would suggest you test for phosphates & this will go a long way in helping you decide if you are feeding too much.

NikeLV
01/26/2012, 12:06 AM
OP*
I did put the amount of fish in the tank on the original post, there is 8.

my fish consume the food within 1 minute each meal because my lyretail anthias are food aggressive. so 3 minute total feeding a day.