PDA

View Full Version : Fluval Spec 2 gallon setup

footballcs12
01/26/2012, 02:01 PM
I am new to the world of saltwater tanks and figured I would start with a small setup from my local pet shot. I am using a fluval 2 gallon tank with LED's and the filter built in. I already have the water cycling to bring it to a safe level to put fish in. I was looking for some advice on what to put in it as far as anemones, fish, and cleaners.

Reef264
01/26/2012, 02:09 PM
I have wanted to do a reef in a Fluval Spec for a while!Glad to see this, as far as Fish, a small Citron Goby Would be cool, Corals I would do some zoanthids, a few Acans, Favias, sexy Shrimp, If you want an anemone, that might be Difficult, the tank would need to settle down and Mature for about 6-8 months, maybe a Mini Carpet Anemone?You may need a 5 Gallon tank for it though.

cjk76
01/26/2012, 02:35 PM
I agree, go with a long tenticle plate coral instead of an anemone in that tank.

Also remember, the smaller the amount of water, the quicker things go wrong. You will really need to keep up with water changes and never skip any. This will be easy, though, as a 50% is just 1 gallon.

P.S. Plenty of people wish they had gone bigger, but very few wish they went smaller.

footballcs12
01/26/2012, 02:44 PM
How often would you recommend the water change? Also would a long tentacle plate coral get too big too fast for a tank that small?

The only reason I went small is due to lack of space as I still live at home. Would love to get a big tank when I get a place of my own.

Reef264
01/26/2012, 04:25 PM
I'd do a half gallon Water Change a Week.

AquaReeferMan
01/26/2012, 05:49 PM
Ive had a Fluval Spec mini reef tank up and running for almost a year now. Pretty simple tank to run if you ask me.

Unfortunately I had to upgrade the stock lighting as the corals I had just were not looking good. Since changing the lighting the tank is running wonderfully. I have a Par38 LED lamp over the tank.