PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible for success with stock equipment?

krkosiba
01/28/2012, 02:47 PM
Hello all, I am relatively new to reefing. I bought a JBJ LED advanced a year ago. I pose this question because it makes me wonder. Is it possible for success with stock equipment?

We all fancy all the latest technological advances that come with this hobby. It is what makes it so fun. Trying new things, always searching for better and the best. However, is it really needed? Can you buy a cube fresh from the LFS with a stock media basket and have a system that thrives?

I suppose with good practice and husbandry it could be. However, am I wrong?

pco1988
01/28/2012, 02:51 PM
I have seen a few with completely stock equipment and go great! The amount of work that they do and I have watched is a lot.

krkosiba
01/28/2012, 02:59 PM
I am sure the work load is almost silly. I sit looking at a tank with just sand and live rock in it. A 4 day power outage smoked my tank. :( Frustrated I sold all of my equipment that I had. Now that I am done being mad I want to get the ball rolling again. I guess that is why I asked the question.

pco1988
01/28/2012, 03:14 PM
Well you can look at what I did, I spent a lot of money and created my own nano tank set up. I went out and bought all of the raw materials and made myself the ultimate nano cube.

But I did spend crazy money on my tank... Check it out! Tell me what you think!

ziyaadb
01/28/2012, 03:18 PM
yes u can have success as long as you care for your system properly, regular waterchanges is all thats needed

cody6766
01/28/2012, 03:39 PM