PDA

View Full Version : Apex programming random


briphi
01/30/2012, 10:50 AM
Is there a random statement anywhere in the apex programming language? I'd like to setup some random events. I'd like to setup something like some % of the time do turn virtual outlet on.

I really hope there is some way to do randomness.

swearint
01/30/2012, 11:05 AM
No, the Apex does not support a Random function. The older AC series did. Not sure why it was dropped. You can use the OSC function, but it is a fixed cycle. What exactly are you trying to do?

Todd

briphi
01/30/2012, 12:13 PM
Well for one thing, I was trying to think up a way to simulate the storm feature without being locked in to the AI Sol. It's really stupid that such basic functionality isn't available.

briphi
01/30/2012, 04:14 PM
I can probably simulate storm mode by making an interference pattern from multiple oscillators running at different frequencies. It would appear randomish with enough overlapping oscillators.