PDA

View Full Version : 75 gallon tank build

KazzAhmed
02/06/2012, 08:39 PM
Hey reef central my name is Kaz and this is the 75gallon tank build i am doing. I would like to hear from you any comments on what I am doing right so far and what you would change. First off I am new to the reefing hobby. I pick up a 75 gallon reef ready tank stand and hood off ebay for a pretty good price. A little bit of time stain and polyurethane I have the stand and hood looking brand new. The tank came with a E.T.S.S Reef Devil delux protein skimmer the pump for the skimmer is a Supreme Classic 9.5 (950 gallons per hr, Coralife Turbo sea 1090 external pump(for return, I think it is a 20 to 30 gallon wet/dry filter(I turned it into a sump). The lighting is 2 MH 10000k 175w bulbs, and 2 Super Actinic FR30 T12/VHO bulbs. I set everthing up under the stand and it was to loud for the room since it is the family room where the TV is. I decided to put the sump in the basement under the DT. It is plumbed with 1" sec 40 PVC into the basement with the return the same but reduced to 3/4 before going back into tank. I used gate valves for shut off and tuning the flows. There and a few unions also If i need to replace pumps or move tank and for cleaning.
I am at the point where i leak tested and did some power failures to see if the sump would overflow. Everything tested out fine.
I emptied tank of tap water and now in the process of adding the RO/DI water (i bought the RO/DI system from BRS it is the five stage with tds meter). I plan on mixing the water in the tank with a 1200gph powerhead for the first time and then using a BRUTE garbage can for the water changes.
i plan I getting about 50 to 60 lbs of reef saver dry rock from brs and seeding it with some live rock. I also plan on using a 4" sand bed with a mix of live sand a regular sand. I would just like to know if i am missing anything or doing something wrong so far. I am posting some pics of the build

nlgill13
02/06/2012, 10:52 PM