PDA

View Full Version : I need MAJOR help please

MaintenanceMan
02/10/2012, 12:12 AM
I need help! I am so frustrated with my tank, i don't know what to do! I'm fairly new to the hobby, had a nano and wanted bigger! got a 230gallon RR tank. I want a reef so bad but everything dies! Fish do great, every coral i have had is either gone or heading south!

Ill give you every detail i can think of and maybe someone can give me an idea! I would be so thankful if someone can help!

the tank has been running since the beginning of oct.

its a 230g with a 50g sump. my filtration is filter socks on the drains that i keep clean. reef octopus xp3000 skimmer. just added 300ml of ecobak in a reactor. 300+lbs LR.

lighting is a diy led setup with 125 cree 3w leds ran 12 hrs/day

parameters are:
salinity 34ppm
ammonia 0
nitrates/nitrites 0
ph 8.14
phosphates 1.2ppm (high di was worn out and didnt realize it)
alk 10dkh
calcium 400
mag 1240

fish (all doing great)
9 chromis
4 clowns
1 blue damsel
2 wrasses
1 mandrine
1 fire shrimp
1 cleaner shrimp
hermits/snails

corals: still alive/maybe
gsp- no polyp extension but the mat still has color
zoanthis has not opened since it came from nano
candycane- alive but looks bad
ricordia- doing ok

corals- died
another gsp colony
green birds nest
pocilapora
small monti
button plops
small xenia
red mushrooms

i dont understand what I'm doing wrong! everything thats not dead looks very sick, most things head south quick! all live stock was floated at least 15 minutes prior to a slow drip.

Anyone have any ideas at all? One other thing i have noticed, coraline is at a very slow growth as well.

Someone please help!

D-Captain
02/10/2012, 12:30 AM
Copper?

MaintenanceMan
02/10/2012, 12:32 AM