PDA

View Full Version : I missed the last 6-8 years - Need Help Getting Current

angman
02/13/2012, 11:38 AM
Hello All,
I was an active hobbyist many years ago. I mainly kept a fish only tank, but did have good luck with a small reef tank until a rough winter and a 2 week power outage killed everything. But then I had kids and things just sort of got put on the back burner (health issues, bills, yadda yadda yadda). For the past 6-8 years my 120 gallon has pretty much sat in stasis. I had 2 clown fish in there - I just threw some flake to them, did water changes occasionally and that was basically it. A few months ago, I decided since the clown fish were still around, I would clean up their tank and start taking better care of them.........which ended up reminding me why I loved the hobby. Soon my husband and my kids were all involved, and now we have all been bit by the bug! But I screwed up and now I have to back peddle. I had NO idea how much the industry has changed in the last few years! So here is my dilemma:

I currently have a 120 gallon tank with built in overflows that has fish (those same ocellaris clown fish, 2 neon gobies, a brown heniochus, a yellow coris wrasse, a blue spotted watchman goby and 3 fire fish.), and live rock (only about 25 pounds). I am running off of a wet/dry, with a turbotwist UV light and a protein skimmer (the skimmer is new.) I have florescent lighting with coral 50/50 bulbs.

Now I need to update everything and get out of the stone age. I wish I had realized this BEFORE I started getting fish. But I have no idea how to proceed. I have read if I want to go reef, which my family is leaning toward, I need to upgrade my filtration and get rid of the bio balls. But how do I do this and not kill everything in the process? Also, what takes the place of the bio-balls? I also need to get new lighting, and am leaning toward LED, but I'm not sure how much lighting I need.