PDA

View Full Version : newbie needing a little help

metusoccultus
02/22/2012, 12:50 AM
Hi everyone... I'm new to saltwater, I'm just about to start my first setup. Here are my plans...

20 gallon long tank
20 pounds of live sand
20-25 pounds of live rock
Aqualight H.O. T-5 Dual Lamp Fixture - 30" is this light powerful enough for coral?
hob refugium made out of a Tetra Whisper EX70 Power Filter filled with liverock and maybe some macro algae.
I'm thinking of putting a Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems on this system- if I need it.

Livestock
1 fire goby
1 zebra goby
1 clownfish
2 blue leg hermit crabs
2 skunk cleaner shrimp
1 emerald crab

Coral
zoanthids
xexia
ricordea

any and all help would be much appreciated.

mjhall85
02/22/2012, 01:03 AM
that fixture should be fine for most corals just depends on how demanding of corals you want if you are going with so called beginner corals then you will have no problem.generally so called nano tanks don't run skimmers usually but that choice is really up to you. Seems like you have a pretty good setup you are gonna be starting. When are you starting it all up? Post some pictures

Welcome to Reef Central a lot of stickies at the top of this page check them out a ton of info are in them.

bjensen1253
02/22/2012, 01:08 AM
Hi everyone... I'm new to saltwater, I'm just about to start my first setup. Here are my plans...

20 gallon long tank
20 pounds of live sand
20-25 pounds of live rock
Aqualight H.O. T-5 Dual Lamp Fixture - 30" is this light powerful enough for coral?
hob refugium made out of a Tetra Whisper EX70 Power Filter filled with liverock and maybe some macro algae.
I'm thinking of putting a Seaclone Protein Skimmer from Aquarium Systems on this system- if I need it.

Livestock
1 fire goby
1 zebra goby
1 clownfish
2 blue leg hermit crabs
2 skunk cleaner shrimp
1 emerald crab

Coral
zoanthids
xexia
ricordea

any and all help would be much appreciated.