PDA

View Full Version : Floor support

sammy77
03/05/2012, 07:27 AM
Hi, I've been doing a lot of reading and research here for my current project which is a 220gal Fowlr. I had a 90gal fowlr up and running for 5 years or so, but sold it all before I moved. So I have decided to go bigger lol. First step I need to take is reinforcing my floor. The tank will sit in my living room with an 8ft ceiling basement directly beneath it. I am planning on using 4 adjustable support posts and gonna sister the floor joists in this area with LVL joists. The tank will have to sit parallel to the joists underneath it, although I'd feel better if it were perpendicular. Any adise would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Sam

NCreefer73
03/05/2012, 08:14 AM
Hey im a carpenter and home builder and deal with stress loads alot. if your going to use lvls and post your going to be fine the only thing i might suggest is to block in between the joist to tie them all together and use hangers on your blocking this will not only equal out the stress but help your subfloor as well if you put your blocking directly beneath where the tank stand will be and let them post kind of catch some of everything. Thats how did my floor underneath but the i didn't use post i just built me a 2x12 wall underneath it isn't going nowhere.

sammy77
03/05/2012, 09:40 AM
Hey im a carpenter and home builder and deal with stress loads alot. if your going to use lvls and post your going to be fine the only thing i might suggest is to block in between the joist to tie them all together and use hangers on your blocking this will not only equal out the stress but help your subfloor as well if you put your blocking directly beneath where the tank stand will be and let them post kind of catch some of everything. Thats how did my floor underneath but the i didn't use post i just built me a 2x12 wall underneath it isn't going nowhere.