PDA

View Full Version : Common powersupply for multiple units?


ketilmorstol
03/19/2012, 04:24 PM
Hi all.

I've got two units within my setup that depends on an external powersupply; the Ethernet and Dosing pump module.
As all my power outlets is allready quite "crowded", and I would like to eliminate the number of wall warts - I'm want to usine one PSU to feed both of the units.

I've got the nessecary skills to manufature the cable, but I just want to be shure that there wouldnt be any issues due to ground potential or different voltages beeing presen on common ground.

Whats your thougths?

Ps. My soldering skills are way beyond my written English..

Best, Ketil.

AQT
03/20/2012, 02:17 AM
Hi Ketil,
I'm sorry but I don't understand what you need.
Could you please explain me better?
Thanks
Davide

ketilmorstol
03/20/2012, 05:32 AM
OK. I'll rephrase.

Can I make an "Y" to supply 12 volt power to both dosing pump and ethernet modules?
The idea is to use one powersupply for two modules.

AQT
03/21/2012, 04:57 AM
yes, it's possible to make a "Y" connection of the two cables in order to have only one powersupply.
The only important thing is to be careful to the polarity: the + has to stay external and the - in the middle.
Needless to say that cutting cables you will loosed the warranty on the product.
Hope this explanation if good.
Davide