PDA

View Full Version : No cycle

chrisrex
03/21/2012, 09:54 PM
As title state

I have no cycle on my tank. I'm new to the hobby and I've been paying very close attention to my tank, I'm 19 days in and I have not had any rise in ammonia nitrite or nitrates from day one, but I have lots of green algea growing in there, I threw a cocktail shrimp in the tank 3 days ago and still nothing,

Specs.
29gal ocianic Biocube
Stock pump
28.5 pounds of live rock
30 pounds of live sand

I put a snail and a hermit grab in the tank last Friday and the hermit grab doesn't seem to be as peppy any more I think he might be a goner
Anyways any help would be great

reelfishy
03/21/2012, 09:55 PM
It is possible with cured live rock.. Still you should not go crazy and start adding a bunch of bioload all at once.. Take it slow and test weekly for the next few weeks.

shaginwagon13
03/21/2012, 10:37 PM
Someone had this question 2 days ago..... read and see the responses.

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2145620

xCry0x
03/21/2012, 11:10 PM
Someone had this question 2 days ago..... read and see the responses.

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2145620

Someone asks this almost every other day.. you would think with Google around people would learn how to use search engines..

CalisFinest
03/21/2012, 11:26 PM
the guy said he was a newb and he came here for advice. he didnt ask you for snide remarks.

chrisrex
03/21/2012, 11:31 PM
Thanks shaginwagon and cry for your nice remarks that are no use to me at all. thanks genuinely to others for your help and advice also I'm guessing it is recommended to do waterchages like I have been ?

rpjaws74
03/22/2012, 12:11 AM
are you turning on your lights... it might help speed up the process if your not

ek9vboi
03/22/2012, 12:12 AM