PDA

View Full Version : "poof" nitrates gone, how

alanbates12
03/24/2012, 01:40 PM
OK I understand the nitrogen cycle, ammonia breaks down to nitrite which breaks down to nitrate. Then do a water change and help rid your system of nitrates.
So what would make nitrates go away without a water change, no chemicals, and no carbon dosing.
So here is my set up. It's a 180 gallon (appx 120 gallons of water) reef with a moderate bio-load. I've been running the system for almost 2 years. Recently I did buy a new tank of the same size. It has a sump, ATO, skimmer.....and I do run a carbon reactor (maybe this is the same as carbon dosing, not sure). My nitrates usually run at 0. For some reason the elevated up to 10. Which is still fine but it means I'm feeding to much or something is off on my maintenance. I bought a new CUC and made sure my skimmer was adjusted but still showed nitrates at the same level. So in the month of Feb I did 4, 40 gallon water changes and nitrates stayed the same. So I did what every reefer should do and left it alone for a couple of weeks. The nitrates went to zero. Hummmmm.
So recently I've done my regular maintenance and a couple days after, I showed nitrates again. The same level as before the water change. Had this checked also at the LFS. Left it alone for a few days and nitrates are 0. This was also confirmed by the LFS.
So my theory is that after I do a cleaning, ie: clean glass, blow off rock, vacuum sand, change out sock filters (change them every 3 days) and change 40 gallons of water my nitrates are stirred up in the system so I still get a reading for a few days. Then after everything settles the level goes back to zero. Or the system's beneficial bacterial is at a level that it takes a couple of days to catch up from me stirring up all the detritus in the system. I don't have an algae problem and everything looks very clean as you can see in the video. I' can go 3 or 4 days before I clean the glass.
So how far off is my theory?