PDA

View Full Version : Phosphates levels?


Sport507
03/24/2012, 03:20 PM
I have never been one to check phosphates, but I pick up a Hanna checker today at Premium Aquatics and tested my tanks.

90 DT I tested twice.
1) 0.00
2) 0.01

28 Bow
1) 0.06

20L Frag.
1) 0.06

What do you all think is an acceptable range?

jimrawr
03/24/2012, 03:36 PM
I would say that is acceptable unless you have algae problems

Sport507
03/24/2012, 03:40 PM
I would say that is acceptable unless you have algae problems

Just in my Frag tank. I'm in a major battle with Cyano and expected the phosphates to be much higher in there.

klepto
03/24/2012, 03:53 PM
Keep in mind that the reading is +-0.04ppm +-4% of total reading @ 25 deg C

I would be sure to keep testing every few days and keep track of the results. That way you can get a more realistic view of the parameter instead of just a snap shot.

tmz
03/24/2012, 04:00 PM
You could go lower. I usually keep it at or under .05ppm per my 713 hanah meter consistently for teh system. .03ppm is the limiting level for green microalge and macroalge. My chaeto wanes when it's under .03/.04 for very long. Cyano may be taking advantage of some other condition;it will usually wane with very low PO4,ime. .06ppm in th frag tank is only what's left after the cyano has already used some,so the ongoing PO4 load may be higher.

Sport507
03/24/2012, 04:33 PM
Thanks tmz/Tom..........then that explaines why I can't keep cheato in my DT fuge. I'm not running GFO or even Carbon. I know this sounds crazy but would you try to get the phospates up, if so how?

Randy Holmes-Farley
03/24/2012, 05:42 PM
No, phosphate is not too low, and the primary reason to grow macroalgae is to bring phosphate down.

Sport507
03/24/2012, 07:11 PM
Randy........I think I just realized how stupid my last post was. With the numerous posts I read about phosphates problems I should have known that the goal is zero. Understand, I havenít been checking them since Iíve been in the hobby. I just watch my tanks and if there are no issues I do nothing. I only bought the hanna checker to help figure out the darn cyano problem in my frag tank. So does the 0.06 PPM in my other tanks need attention?

bertoni
03/24/2012, 07:28 PM
Stony corals and coralline might have some issues at 0.06 ppm, but other organisms won't be affected.

Randy Holmes-Farley
03/25/2012, 07:14 AM
If you think the corals seem to be OK, are growing, and you do not have algae or cyano problems, I would not change what you are doing based on the phosphate reading alone. :)

tmz
03/25/2012, 09:06 AM
Thanks tmz/Tom..........then that explaines why I can't keep cheato in my DT fuge. I'm not running GFO or even Carbon. I know this sounds crazy but would you try to get the phospates up, if so how?

There are lots of fish and feeding in my aquariums so "low" nutrients are not an issue. I personally wouldn't try to add phosphate based on tests levels alone. But if you wan't a little more , just feeding a little more should do it.. Some iron,adequate lighting and room to grow help chaeto too.