PDA

View Full Version : Michaelangello's sumped Osaka 155

michaelangello
03/26/2012, 05:19 PM
Hi everyone,

Thought id finally get a thread going on RC after snooping around for long enough.

First off, ive been keeping marines now for about 3 years and started out with a 28G Nano and soon found myself with a 400 litre tank in no time.

Due to work commitments I found myself not being able to dedicate the time needed to properly look after a tank that size to the standard I would like to keep it at so I broke it down and was on the brink of taking a break from the hobby. That was until.....

I stumbled upon a second hand Fluval Osaka 155. I had a few bits of live rock left and decided to set up a small low maintenance tank. When I first set the tank up I put a 250w Geissmann halide over it. This was insanely bright and I started to get lots of hair algae and also struggled with temp fluctuations.

I also ran a Fluval 205 canister filter and Koralia blower. The next upgrade came as a sump which then allowed me to place all the unsightly equipment under the cabinet and upgrade the TMC skimmer to a Bubble Magus NAC7.

Next on the upgrades came an ATI power module 6 x 35w T5 light. This light was a quality upgrade and gave much better colour spread and better growth I found than the Geissmann. The next and probably my favourite piece of equipment was a Vortech MP10WES. This power head is top notch and I love it. Definitely a huge improvement over the single Koralia I had.

After this the tank had to be moved and underwent a minor re-scape. I started to focus more on harder corals then and after following the RC thread on the Eco Tech Radion light I decided I had to have one. I was the first person in Ireland to land one and have to say its another outstanding piece of equipment from Eco Tech. The colours from corals are phenomenal and the camera cant do it justice.