PDA

View Full Version : 55 gallon kalk storage and mixing?


mos90
03/28/2012, 08:57 AM
i have a 55 gallon drum id like to use to make a saturated kalk mix. i have a 1000gph powerhead i can use to mix it up. right now i use brs kalk mix, is that going to be ok or should u use another method?

after it is all mixed how should i go about moving water to ato container?

normally i mix my kalk 2.5 gallons at a time. its getting to be a pain..

Randy Holmes-Farley
03/28/2012, 02:30 PM
That is a fine way to go.

I use BRS calcium hydroxide to saturate 3 x 44 gallon Brute cans that are plumbed together to make my limewater reservoir. I draw my water directly from one of these reservoirs and deliver it to my sump via a slow pump on a float switch. :)

mos90
03/28/2012, 02:35 PM
would it be ok if u just used a jug to move it to my ato container? i have to keep it in the garage. no room in the basement..well there is room but the wife might not like its location..lol

Randy Holmes-Farley
03/28/2012, 06:07 PM
Yes, that is fine. :)

mos90
03/29/2012, 08:58 AM
what could it harm if u got some slurry in the ato container? i know u are only supposed to use the clear liquid.

Randy Holmes-Farley
03/29/2012, 10:44 AM
No harm if you do not dose it out of the ATO. If you do, it risks too large of an addition and the pH may get too high. Lime mud can cause tank crashes. Small amounts are not a problem, however.

mos90
03/29/2012, 11:25 AM
i need to clean out the ato container and make sure im not adding lime mud. i do dose out the ato.

how does lime mud cause issues? because of the high ph?

mos90
03/29/2012, 12:17 PM
how else would u dose it besides in ato?

bertoni
03/29/2012, 01:55 PM
The high pH is one issue. Lime can cause precipitation events, too, which can drop the alkalinity and calcium a lot.

Dosing clear limewater by ATO is fine. That's the way I did it. Some people use manual drips, too.

mos90
03/29/2012, 03:10 PM
ive revised my plan. im going to use a kalk stirrer tied into my ato. ill give it a shot.

i could tie ro/di in to my topoff container with a float switch but im not sure how comfortable i am with that.

bertoni
03/29/2012, 03:14 PM
There have been a few disasters reported about setups with a RO/DI filter producing water on demand.