PDA

View Full Version : Mutiny III Ozone Set up


pyton
04/14/2012, 08:01 PM
Okay so the Mag 7 is plumbed into the center where the nozzle is. The outlet of the Ozone Reactor goes into which port on the Media Reactor (Side or Center?)

Hope to have this all set up by next weekend, only two weeks behind so far.... ha ha

pyton
04/15/2012, 01:22 PM
For those of you that have yours set up and running already can you post some pictures of your set up?

Thank you

jrpark22000
04/16/2012, 06:06 AM
http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showpost.php?p=19433821&postcount=318

An older pic of my setup.

Want2BS8ed
04/16/2012, 09:39 AM
A video of mine during a trial run...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9rHXWBpqdTE&feature=youtube_gdata_player


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

pyton
04/16/2012, 05:28 PM
A video of mine during a trial run...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9rHXWBpqdTE&feature=youtube_gdata_player


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


I saw this after I posted, I guess they changed the design of the Ozone reactor because I do not have that top disk and the black injection is no longer in the kit. Makes me wonder how well this new style is going to work.

I think I liked the old style better.

Want2BS8ed
04/16/2012, 09:42 PM
I wasn't aware the design change had been made...

Certainly looks simpler... and not that I have done it often but there has been more than one occasion when I've had to clean the Venturi. Plus that extra disk with the o-ring is a bit of a PIA to deal with. I cut the snot out of my finger on it while disassembling the reactor early on for plumbing changes.

Based on my experience it looks like a viable upgrade.

Want to trade?

Avast Marine
04/17/2012, 09:37 AM
The changes were definitely an upgrade in terms of maintenance. Also, the spray nozzle passes slightly more gph than the venturi at the same back pressure.

pyton
04/18/2012, 01:14 AM
Sweet I will keep my upgrade...... thanks for the replies.

ctenophore
04/20/2012, 10:08 AM
Mike, there is an upgrade kit that should be on the website shortly. It is not critical though, unless you have to mess with the venturi often.

pyton
05/25/2012, 09:13 PM
Finally hooked this up.

I bought a Mag 7 but talked to Justin about Teeing off my Mag 12 return to feed the reactor and the Ozone since I have a Penductor on my return that creates back pressure. This does work however I will be upgrading a Mag 18 since the overflows seem a little slow.

So for anyone wondering if you can Tee off your return pump to feed your Ozone reactor, yes!

You need the following
Penductor on your return and a Mag 18 unless you want crazy flow; then get a Mag 24 and tell us how it goes.

nreefer
05/30/2012, 06:57 AM
Do you still need an air pump as well to feed the ozone?

pyton
06/10/2012, 12:47 AM
Yes the Air pump builds up the pressure to help mix the ozone and move the water out of the chamber.

My question is if the water is surging is it running right? Do I need more water? I have the air meter right at 2.

origreefer
02/26/2013, 03:56 PM
A video of mine during a trial run...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9rHXWBpqdTE&feature=youtube_gdata_player


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Where did you get the plumbing parts for between the 2 reactors? I like the clean look you have.

Want2BS8ed
02/27/2013, 04:57 AM
Multiple sources. 1/2" Polyethylene tubing came from Bulk-Reef-Supply. The compression fittings are Kynar. Do a Google search as prices vary widely. Some parts came from US Plastics, others from a supplier of ozone equipment for hot tubs.

Polyethylene does not have the greatest resistance to ozone, so I keep a pretty close eye on it. So far, no issues.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

origreefer
02/27/2013, 02:24 PM
Multiple sources. 1/2" Polyethylene tubing came from Bulk-Reef-Supply. The compression fittings are Kynar. Do a Google search as prices vary widely. Some parts came from US Plastics, others from a supplier of ozone equipment for hot tubs.

Polyethylene does not have the greatest resistance to ozone, so I keep a pretty close eye on it. So far, no issues.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thanks! I'll check them out. I got my 2 reactors today, but the ozone one was taller than the media one, not identical like yours.