PDA

View Full Version : Quarantine Ideas From the Best (You guys)

Ryand63
04/18/2012, 07:57 AM
Looking to the best (all of you) for some thoughts on a 10 gallon quarantine. I'm looking to only have the quarantine running during the 2-3 weeks I get each new fish. Is it possible to say set it up a day or two before each new fish and just keep up with water changes, use established media/rocks/or sand? Any ideas/suggestions/comments are so much appreciated!

ken55
04/18/2012, 08:16 AM
I'm still a newbie but this is what I do. Others may have better ideas. I went to Petsmart (Petco's twin) and purchased a 10g kit tank. Tank, hood, light, small hob filter packaged together. I already had a spare heater.

I run this bare bottom with a coffee cup as a hinding spot for my new fish. I check ammonia everyday. I change out a gallon of water evryday. I have at least 10g of water on hand if ammonia shows so I can do back to back 50% change if needed.

so far this has worked well for me. When done with QT the whole thing gets emptied, wiped down and chucked into a closet.

Please refer back to the first two sentences if this doesn't sound right to you.

shifty51008
04/18/2012, 08:19 AM
before I had a basement setup I tore mine down al the time, all it was, was a 10 gal. tank, heater, PVC pipes for hideing spots and a sponge filter. when I wan't using it I would clean the sponge filter and put it in my sump from the main tank, when I needed it, I take it out from the main tank and put it in the QT and you have bacteria.

just make sure to clean it before putting it back in the DT/sump. don't use LR or sand.

sponger0
04/18/2012, 08:20 AM
I prefer to keep the QT running in case I come home with a fish, I dont have to owrry about setting it up. Just acclimate and drop fish in and observe.

Doesnt cost much extra. Whenever I do a water change on my main tank, I take the water I removed from my main tank and use it for a water change in my QT.