PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Here! Need Expert Help Please!

Justindew
05/02/2012, 12:02 PM
Hi everyone I just joined up over here as I have been keeping freshwater planted tanks for several years and figured I would try out a nano saltwater tank. I know I am in for a big learning curve. I have tried to read up as much as I can. So my setup consists of the following.

SeaClear 4 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium
Hydor Inline Heater
12lbs Live Sand
6lbs of Dry Rock- I couldn't find any live rock in my area other then petco.
18 watt Power Compact fixture 10k spectrum for now
Large canister filter with all the compartments empty. Using just for flow and to keep equipment out of the tank. I also like the canister filter as it nearly doubles my water volume which I think will help keeping things a bit more stable. I think the canister says it pushes 400gph but it is one of those ebay specials so I would say it is more like 200gph or so. Is this to much flow?

On to the questions I am hoping the local experts could help me out with. As I have searched on the internet and haven't found much.

Question 1: I was told by my LFS that with time the dry rock would become live rock if I used live sand which I did. Is this true? If so should I buy a small piece of live rock from petco to seed the other rocks? Or will it be alright leaving it as is?

Question 2: The canister filter I am currently using has a 9w uv light built in. Is it beneficial to use the uv light or is it pointless in the saltwater enviroment? Also I wondered if I changed the design of the filter slightly if I could use the filter as a macro algae compartment. I have included a schematic of the changes I would make. Would this work? I would be switching out the uv bulb for a 9w 10k bulb.

http://dewberrycrafts.com/FreeDownloads/ProposedCanisterFilter.jpg

Question 3:Lastly what kind of cleanup crew is recommended for a tank of this size?