PDA

View Full Version : MR 10 Reactor and Ozone


Jacob Sellers
05/05/2012, 12:40 PM
do you fill your carbon reactor with carbon? I put 7 cups as recommended but the flow cause it to tumble so much that pieces come out of the output

Want2BS8ed
05/05/2012, 08:26 PM
Boy that new mod on the ozone reactors must be working great if you are tumbling carbon!

Two suggestions: 1) reverse the flow of the carbon reactor so the outlet is now the center barb drawing from the bottom of the reactor, and 2) use the foam disks.

Tomorrow, is my quarterly carbon swap. I'll try and snap a couple of photos.

Jacob Sellers
05/06/2012, 08:39 AM
Thanks. I need to reverse the output to the center barb, but got the tumbling to stop by filling the reactor with carbon between the foam disks. BTW how much carbon do you use? Any downside to using more than the recommended amount?

Want2BS8ed
05/08/2012, 03:59 AM
I don't think it hurts. Instructions call for 4. The MR-10 can hold 8, so I split the difference at 6 cups.

Have been running that for ~9 months with no negative effects.

I run ROX in a separate reactor as well - actually installed a second BRS reactor this weekend so I could stop running GFO and carbon in the same reactor. Extending the swap times for carbon changes.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ctenophore
05/09/2012, 08:56 AM
This advice is correct- thanks Mike!

I've experimented with fiberglass window screen (e.g., from Home Depot) in the carbon reactor and found it works well to keep the carbon in place and not clog up the foam disks. If we can cut it nicely we may start adding it to the reactors for this application.