PDA

View Full Version : 65 Gallon Tank Help

jdnidle
05/08/2012, 08:15 AM
I am new to saltwater and will be setting up a 65 gallon tank over the next week or two.
I have done a ton of reading and talking things over with a local saltwater fish store.
I have been into freshwater for over 13 years, but will be new to salt.

I picked up a 65 gallon, reef-ready tank yesterday.
It is 36 7/8 x 19 x 24 5/8.
Pre-drilled with the built in over-flow.

I also picked up Amiracle sump.
I will be removing the bio balls and using live rock and a few other things as natural filtration, per the recommendation of my local saltwater fish store.

I also picked up a Coralife 125g Super Skimmer.
Got all of that used from Craigslist yesterday.

I have to get a power head or two.
1 I was going to get for sure was the Hydor Koralia 1400.

I have been doing a lot of reading online and on these forums and like anything, you get mixed reviews.

My questions so far:
1. Glass canopies. Do I need them? I see many tanks without them, I like the look without them, but then some people say that they recommend them to keep fish from jumping out.

2. I plan on using something like D-D EzeClean Equipment Cleaner to clean up everything I bought used yesterday.
Do I mix this with distilled water or do I need to wash it in saltwater?

3. What about dry live rock?
I got about 60 pounds of dry, live rock from the same guy that sold me the protein skimmer yesterday.
It has never been in a tank. What is the best method to cure it?
Does it need to be cured before I put it in my tank since I am starting a tank fresh?

4. Lighting - Which LED's to use?
I want to go LED, due to the life of the bulbs. I do not want to have to buy new bulbs each year.
I know I want a fixture that has separate power cords for Blue and White so that I can put them on timers separately.

Which brand though?
Due to only 1 power cord, this rules out the Marineland Reef Ready lighting for me.