PDA

View Full Version : Cycling, GFO, Carbon questions

Brent RH
05/15/2012, 09:23 PM
Here's what i think i did in somewhat of a backward order. Started a new 72 gal with about 80 lbs of nice cured LR. The tank sat for about 3 wks fully operating. The next 2 wks i start ghost feeding. Then i got a wild idea to buy 2 $25 bottles of DR Tim's denitrifying bacteria. Perhaps a rooking mistake, I'm running carbon during this time. Another reefer on here posted that you don't want to be running carbon during the cycle because it will absorb the new bacteria trying to form. Is this why at about 9 wks into the process i still have about .25 ammonia? Did my Dr. Tim's solution get absorbed by my carbon? Can you run GFO during the cycle to limit algae growth? At what point in a new tank setup are you actually doing the tank a benefit to run GFO and carbon? My skimmer cup is near full daily. I haven't any livestock. And to think I've been doing fish tank chaos for about 5 years but never properly cycled a tank!

soul4surfin
05/15/2012, 09:46 PM
http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2170537

Just started a similar thread and we seem at the same point in time in our cycles. I am at 8 weeks with about 100 lbs of dry and 10 lbs of live in a 90 gallon and as well dosed some "instant bacteria" for about 4 days in the beginning.

Don't know the full answer yet to my question, but I am having the feeling we have to get to 12 weeks before wondering if anything is gone haywire.

However since you seem to have almost all LR, you might already be cycled.

sporto0
05/15/2012, 10:40 PM