PDA

View Full Version : New to the hobby first tank

Mpwcreighton
05/16/2012, 07:46 AM
I'm new to the hobby and pick up a new 200 gallon reef tank at a garage sale. Called a place about setting it up and he told me it would run 8 to ten grand. Does that sound right? Im not really interested in anything fancy just a low maintenance reef tankAlso if you could recommend a book for step by step guide on how to set up a reef tank. I always wanted a salt water tank since I was a kid! So excited thanks for all the help

sponger0
05/16/2012, 08:35 AM
If you are going to pay someone to set it up....yes this should about right. Any service company charges about $60-100 per house. Then you add equipment....so just averaging out prices is like this for a 200 gallon, lights with using metal halide about $1000, skimmer $400, return pump $150, water circluation $120, sand $200, live rock 200 lbs x $6/lb = $1200.

It adds up very quickly. Rule of thumb is for every gallon you will spend $50 once everything is setup and tank is fully stocked. So spending $10k is very feasible.

TjwBlake
05/16/2012, 08:41 AM
The way to cut that is by shopping craigs list, garage sales, local reef clubs etc for used equipment.
If all you plan on is a FOWLR you can probably cut that bill even more as you dont need the high end lights, skimmers, and other extra's required to manage the full blown reef tanks.

In the end this is NOT a cheap hobby.
I have an 8gallon tank and I have put about $500 into getting it stocked and running.

fishgate
05/16/2012, 08:45 AM
$8-$10k seems quite excessive. Maybe if you are getting the best of everything and having someone set it up.

Doing everything yourself if you have the tank and nothing else I would figure maybe $2500 (with Corals). You could do it cheaper depending on what you want out of it like no Corals (no photosynthetic animals) lowers the price a lot.

sponger0
05/16/2012, 09:12 AM