PDA

View Full Version : 29 Biocube lighting

Sethjamto
05/17/2012, 04:35 PM
I tried finding my other thread about this tank, but tapatalk isn't letting me search for some reason.....

I'm looking to pick up a used 29 Biocube this weekend hopefully from craigslist. The pics show the stock hood and lighting gear. Being the total newbie to this, I've read that to maintain temps and not get too hot (I keep the a/c between 71 and 74 in the house), that you should not have the tanks covered. Wouldn't that get rid of the lighting too on this style tank? What are my lighting options? I want to eventually have a couple clowns, corals, etc along with the CUC. Not looking to drop a ton of money...I'll save that for the upgrade I KNOW that will happen someday....or can I use the stock hood and lights? Don't I need a T5 for corals?

I should probably just go get a good starter book from the store. Any recommendations on a good book?

Tschupe
05/17/2012, 04:58 PM
The stock lighting is fine for easier corals. Just make sure you replace the bulbs regularly.

IridescentLily
05/17/2012, 05:04 PM
I've got a 29g Oceanic biocube hqi. But they have hoodless lighting. Does yours have power compact bulbs or hqi halides? The
light should be goid for some soft corals or maybe some lps corals.
You can setup some other type of lighting to hang over your tank if you want to keep your hood off for less heat. There are some folks who use a 'stunner led strip' for about 75.00 dollars. Or you can fashion a hqi light hanger with some metal tubing. There are other various ways but those are two ideas for you.

Sethjamto
05/30/2012, 06:58 PM