PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts for a reefer on the edge

nstiesi
05/18/2012, 07:25 AM
Hello RC,

I don't post in the global forum much, but am fairly active in regional. I have been reefing since 2008. I went from 20L, to 29g, t0 75g in that time, mixed reef, moved the tank from place to place a few times. the 75g has been settled as it sits since October 2010. Ive always been pretty successful, never had too much trouble keeping the simple stuff. Lately things have taken a turn for the worse. I'd like to characterize my system, its strengths, and its faults below. If anyone has some insights into my troubles, it would be greatly appreciated, as more and more I feel a rage quit coming on.

The system:
75g peninsula.
beananimal overflow.
30g sump.
Octopus dwn-110 recirc skimmer.
10ish gallon fuge with LR and chaeto fed from return.
Lights: 2x 175w halide, currently ushio 14k lamps. Also, 2x 54w T5HO supplements, currently ATI Blue+. Lamps need replacement, about 10 months old.
Flow: 2x Koralia, one 1400, one 1050, no wavemaker. Return, mag 7.
Carbon run passively in filter sock in sump. replaced periodically.
Water made personally from 0 TDS RO/DI unit, with seachem reef salt.

Parameters:
pH: usually on the low side of normal 7.8 to 8. Measured using both cheap Hanna PH with new electrode, and API test solution
Alk: 7-11. Dosed when low with BRS recipe 1 two part solution. seemed to need about 1 dKH every day or two to maintain 11. Dosed manually, so usually less frequently than that.
Ca: 400-440. Dosed when below 400 with BRS recipe 1 two part, also manually. Needs it maybe once a week, stays pretty stable.
Nitrate: Always tests zero
Phosphate: dont have test kit.
I dose 40mL of 5% acetic acid vinegar solution for carbon source daily
Water changes performed once every 2 weeks....sometimes once per month if im really busy. Always ~20%

Inhabitants: