PDA

View Full Version : On A New Journey, Help WithA Few Questions

krzyphsygy
05/27/2012, 07:07 AM
Ok, So this is my first time setting up a large tank. I have a 90gl that is not set up yet. I was in the process of getting things going on it. I had 2x 20 amp breakers and outlets put in and the floor tiled.
But now I have decided just to go up to my dream size and stop upgrading. So a 180 is in the mist. Here are my questions.

Tank is a 72x24x25 180gl It has two overflows.
What size pump do I need for this tank with the two overflows?
Do I need two pumps or just one?
I want to run and in sump pump, what is a good brand for larger pumps?
The two overflow thing kinda confuses me a bit.

What size sump do I need???
I have a 30gallon DIY sump I made that I have been using, is this too small?

sponger0
05/27/2012, 07:18 AM
IMO go as big as you possibly can with a sump. If it was me I would do a minimum of a 90. I like large sumps. Not to increase volume, but to hold as much as I want for the sump if needed. Such as skimmer, pump, reactors and have a large as possible can be fuge.

fazilosman
05/27/2012, 07:26 AM
I am building an identical tank right now and researched some of the same questions. Here is my analysis for your information:

1) I would expect that your two overflows are 1". If so, each could handle ~700g - 800g per hour, just using gravity and assuming some loss due to air etc. See the chart here for my background on this: http://flexpvc.com/WaterFlowBasedOnPipeSize.shtml

2) I assume your returns are 3/4" and so would handle ~1,100g/h at medium pressure.

So, on the issue of pump selection, my advice would be a total pumping volume of 2,500g/h up to 3,500g/h. Using two pumps of ~1,500g/h would be good and provide a failsafe should one fail. The only "issue" that I see is heat produced by multiple pumps. If you are planning to run a chiller then it should not be a problem.