PDA

View Full Version : wrasse trouble

ribki
06/01/2012, 09:23 AM
Hello, I am fairly new at this and would like some help. My wrasse has been very anti-social for some time now. I have yet to get a lid for my tank and as a result, this fish has jumped out on multiple occasions. I wonder if that has traumatized him on some level, because he rarely comes out of hiding. I have 3 chromis, 1 blue damsel, 2 mexican snails, 1 hermit crab, and 2 shrimp. Also have a sun coral in a 30 gallon tank. I used to have a bristle worm problem, but since getting this wrasse it's been a whole lot better. Any advice? I want every little guy in my tank to be happy and this wrasse seems to be miserable.

saltysailor2329
06/01/2012, 09:55 AM
Well I would definitely say that the first thing you need to do is get a lid. What if you fell into the water on multiple occasions and struggled to breathe and had to be saved each and every time...think that you would be very anti-social? I would be.

Fish_King_25
06/01/2012, 10:04 AM
+1 on getting a lid. If temp or evaporation issues are a problem, and for whatever reason you don't want to cover the top of your tank completely, get some type of netting and make a DIY top that allows airflow, but will prevent any carpet surfing.

ribki
06/01/2012, 10:42 AM
I've been meaning to get a lid, it's just that I am on a college budget and they're like $50! It will be my next purchase, for sure. The water evaporating so quickly and the noise is bothersome. Thanks for the push, guys. As for further advice, what else can I do to make my tank a better home for the wrasse? He is so beautiful and I would really like to see him come out more often. He is the largest (and most expensive) fish I have in there, after all.

xCry0x
06/01/2012, 12:09 PM
I bought like 20 feet of window screen for $5 at home depot, that is all you need. A solid lid is bad, it prevents gas exchange.