PDA

View Full Version : Question on Filtration, HOB vs. Sump 30gal Reef

katjianna
06/03/2012, 10:09 PM
Just found this forum and have been sitting here for hours absorbing facts. Have a quick question that pertains to my 30g as far as filtration.

I have a 30g with 1 clown, one Royal Gramma a few astrea snails, pom pom and emerald crab. Have a few corals (Galaxy, small amount of Zoa's, Frogspawn, daisy Polyp, candy cane.)

Tank has been up and running for 3-4 months now with no issues, only 1 coral loss, no fish loss, all levels ideal and I test almost every day. System has been doing great. I've kept FWLOR many years ago, this is my first time with corals.

My question is on filtration. I started the tank up with a Hydor slim skim and a cheapie Petco HOB filter. It has no sump, no refugium. I was told by my LFS to run Clear FX Pro media in the HOB.

I plan on adding about 3 or 4 more corals and thats it (will be trading the Galaxy, that stinging little bastard!) Am I OK with just the Hydor slim skim and HOB? Or is it 100% necessarily to use a sump or refugium?

I am very worried that things may go south if I may not be doing things right?

Please advise? I have looked and looked and Googled but can't seem to come up with a concrete, easy to understand answer.

Thanks in advance!

plateboy3293
06/03/2012, 10:25 PM
The hob filter is more so used on hospital or quarantine tanks as a temporary form of filtration I would suggest investing in a sump but to every piece of advice someone else will say it worked for them. If you have enough flow in the tank ie powerheads and such there is no reason why long term it shouldn't work but the sump allows you to have extra space and water to keep equipment and grow organisms for your tank ie mysis, Copepoda,amphipods
My best suggestion I would say is flow is key to a successful reef.

Ron Reefman
06/04/2012, 04:41 AM