PDA

View Full Version : Hyposalinity question

MeTaLMaN1375
06/06/2012, 08:52 AM
I am in the process of curing my Copperbanded Butterfly and my Lemon Peel Mimic Tang of Ich by administering the Hyposalinity treatment but it is my first time doing so. They are both sitting in my 20g high QT which is bare of course with the exception of a fake aquarium log with fake plant in it to hide in and behind my salinity lvl is at 1.008 and my temp is at aroun 79 degrees F and Im constantly checking my PH to make sure its stays where it should be using a PH and alk buffer to raise it when I need to. My question is to anyone who has experience in this treatment is how long does it normally take before you can see some of the spots disappear and overall how long does this treatment normally take. I know what ever you tell me is not an exact and doesnt apply to every case but it at least gives me a time frame to look forward to.

Palting
06/06/2012, 11:24 AM
In the fish that I had that had Ich, the spots usually disappear after 4-5 days. BTW, the last day that you see any spots is day 0 in the countdown (or is it countup?) to a minimum 4 weeks (28 days) or preferable 6 weeks of constant 1.009 salinity.

Here's a blow by blow account of how I did hyposalinity treatment on 11 fish in a 110 gallon QT/HT: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1892446

Hal
06/06/2012, 02:14 PM
Check this out. It's my "Bible" for the hypo treatment.

http://atj.net.au/marineaquaria/hyposalinity.html

If you use the links you'll see a discussion on the lifecyle of the ich parasite, which will answer your question on how long the spots will be present (3-7 days at normal reef temps).

For how long:the answer is 4-6 weeks after the spots disappear.

MeTaLMaN1375
06/06/2012, 08:54 PM
Thank you.

Reefahholic
06/07/2012, 01:08 AM
Just curious, why don't people use copper in a QT and skip the hypo treatment.

Since there are no corals in a QT, wouldn't copper be a lot easier??

Palting