PDA

View Full Version : Deep sand bed or shallow sand bed in 20 g tall

fouadgillani
06/18/2012, 07:59 AM
Hi,
I am a complete newb. I am planning on mixing up the saltwater on Tuesday and then going to go to a lfs on Wednesday to get live rock and sand. Having read pros and cons of deep sand bed and shallow sand bed I am still confused which to go with, and more specifically which to go with in a small tank, mine is a 20 g tall. I am planning on 3 gallon water changes twice a week.

EllieSuz
06/18/2012, 08:14 AM
Save yourself a few bucks and get plain, dry sand. The "live" sand you buy in a bag usually doesn't have much life in it after sitting on a shelf for who know how long. Ask your LFS for a cup or so of sand to seed it. If you like the look of having sand on the bottom, go for a shallow bed no more than two inches deep. A deep sand bed can have disastrous results when it becomes disturbed and IMO should not be attempted by a novice.

SilverGTS
06/18/2012, 09:24 AM
I run a 20g high reef tank packed and run a 3/4-1in sandbed. I have a small piece of eggcrate which keeps my aquascape completely stable from snails and such. Its just deep enough to cover the crate.

-Chris

genesisblue
06/18/2012, 06:49 PM
Shallow sand bed is the way to go and easier on the wallet.

SeanT
06/18/2012, 07:11 PM
A DSB won't operate correctly in that sized tank.
Go shallow.

cloak
06/18/2012, 07:40 PM
A DSB won't operate correctly in that sized tank.
Go shallow.

Can you elaborate on this please?

If a 4" DSB can work in a 40 gallon tank, why wouldn't it work in a 20 gallon tank?

SeanT
06/18/2012, 07:47 PM
Years ago Dr. shimek (the sand bed guru) stated that a DSB is very ineffective if it's size was not at least the same footprint of a 29 gallon tank due to the size of the bacteria colonies.

Agu
06/18/2012, 07:52 PM
Can you elaborate on this please?

If a 4" DSB can work in a 40 gallon tank, why wouldn't it work in a 20 gallon tank?