PDA

View Full Version : Connecting MH ballast to reflector

tgr26
07/07/2012, 03:15 PM
Alright, so I'm a newbie on metal halides and definitely not an electrician. I purchased a Hamilton light reflector and lumatek ballast for a tank upgrade I'm working on. My question is: how do I connect the two?

The ballast came with an "unwired" cord that I believe needs to be wired into the reflector.

http://i823.photobucket.com/albums/zz160/bryannagy/26364af6.jpg

However, the reflector came with a cord installed, but it doesn't match the plug for the ballast.

http://i823.photobucket.com/albums/zz160/bryannagy/66c1ade0.jpg

Do I need to unscrew the reflector and wire the cord from the ballast into it?

http://i823.photobucket.com/albums/zz160/bryannagy/1e79ceac.jpg

It also has three wires- a green, a black, and a white. The green one has a circular metal end. What do I do with this one?

Also, the reflector comes with LEDs that run on a separate cord. However, it doesn't come with a cord. It this something I can buy at home depot?

http://i823.photobucket.com/albums/zz160/bryannagy/82b20d3b.jpg

Please keep mind I have no knowledge of wiring so your patience is appreciated!

alton
07/07/2012, 03:50 PM
I would contact the store you bought them from. If you cut the cords to splice it will void your warranty

evsalty
07/07/2012, 04:08 PM
Is that a 150w Cayman sun or a 250w? My 250w Cayman Sun had the same ballast connector as does the Lumatek in your pic. When I bought my Lumatek I was able to plug it right up to my Cayman Sun without issue.

That LED cord should have a large black wall wart type plug that that cord plugs into.

Did you buy this used? If so someone changed the cord and also did not send you the wall-wart for the led's.

You can easily change the halide cord as it looks like someone has already done. The marks on the cord between the ziptie and the bulkhead on the reflector are the teeth marks from that bulkhead so that cord has been moved if nothing else.