PDA

View Full Version : Help identifying this Algae

Croniss
07/15/2012, 10:46 AM
Hello, I noticed this algae growing a few weeks ago but with my lack of knowledge base i left it in hopes that it was a beneficial macro algae that would eat up the nitrates. I looked into different types of bubble algae growths and now i am confused as to what i have in my tank any information would be appreciated. Im trying to clear up the tank with reduced feedings and shorter light periods. Also if anyone has any thoughts on the product ALGONE id love to hear opinions of it, ive been using it for 2 months but i now feel like my tank is dependant on the stuff and have to keep replacing the packets.

zachfishman
07/15/2012, 04:41 PM
I recommend an urchin.

thegrun
07/15/2012, 04:45 PM
The majority of the algae I see is Filament Algae (Hair Algae) but there is also some what appears to be Cladophoropsis (a Turf Algae). Neither is desirable, what sized clean-up crew do you have, what sized tank, what are your chemistry parameters and your lighting schedule?

Croniss
07/15/2012, 05:41 PM
The majority of the algae I see is Filament Algae (Hair Algae) but there is also some what appears to be Cladophoropsis (a Turf Algae). Neither is desirable, what sized clean-up crew do you have, what sized tank, what are your chemistry parameters and your lighting schedule?

My tank is a 55 gal with 4 t5 54w bulbs 2 blues and 2 days, I run the lights on a single timer from 10am-7pm, i have the lights all come on at once because the fixture i have is a marine land 48" deluxe and the switch on it is the only adjustable part, therefore if i put it on a timer only the power source is adjusted not the switch. My hopes are that being set to 10 am allows enough ambient light to kinda wake up the fish gently. The tank doesn't really receive any direct sunlight.

Clean up crew is minimal because they keep dying off i have roughly 10 red legged hermits (lost track from die off)
1 Trochus snail

Ammonia 0