PDA

View Full Version : Input on my 53 gallon build please

Jdev
07/15/2012, 02:35 PM
Hey all, I posted in the welcome section (quoted so I don't have to retype the info):
Hello all! I'm new to salt but have been keeping fresh water tanks ranging from 2.5 gallons (heated, filtered betta tank) up to 55 gallons (tropical semi-aggressive community) and several sizes in between (more , shrimp, and live bearers).

I have decided to move to having on one tank, and that it will be my first salt water tank. It is a 53 gallon "hexagon". It is a hex in that it has 6 sides, but it is essentially a 55 gallon with diagonal front corners. It will have a 10 gallon DIY sump. I am still undecided on stocking, but know I want corals.

I have read most of what was discussed (that I didn't already know) in the new tank threads, and now was hoping for some more personal input on my specific set up. I am going to start it as a FOWLR to learn salt for a few months and then in December-ish start adding corals.

Here is what I am thinking for my set up (suggestions and tweaks appreciated!):

1. 53 gallon tank
2. 10 gallon DIY sump
3. Reef Octopus NWB-150 skimmer
4. 40 lbs live sand, 20 lbs. inert sand
5. 50 (ish) lbs. of live rock
6. 2 24" T8 or T12 (not sure which they are) lights (will upgrade to either T5 or LED before coral addition)
7. Undecided overflow
8. Undecided return pump (maxi jet 400 maybe?)
9. Potentially a DIY algae scrubber in sump
10. In sump refugium.

So what are your thoughts on my set up? I have included some crude drawings of what I am planning.

Also, as shown in my design drawings, I have a Rena Filstar XP2. I understand that canisters are not really advantageous in reef systems, so I was wondering if there was any way to utilize it or canabalize the parts into something that is useful. In the mock up, I would be using it with no media in it (other than maybe some carbon) to transport water from the refugium into the main sump.

rbennett15
07/15/2012, 04:32 PM