PDA

View Full Version : General Acro Question

jerpa
07/23/2012, 10:26 AM
I'm new to SPS, and pretty new to the hobby, so please excuse this question if it's common knowledge. I understand you have to be patient waiting for Acro's to get settled and color up when introduced to your tank. I'm trying to figure out signs that they are in a good spot other than PE. I have several that have begun growing and/or encrusting. All the new growth is the color the rest of the coral should be and stays that color. Should I assume that this is a sign it is in a good spot?

Thanks

Digitalelectric
07/23/2012, 11:17 AM
Heres how I went about it when starting off:
Note my lighting is 250W MH 20K Radiums on HQI setting i.e. lots of light.

1. Tested water parameters to ensure they were in the commonly accepted range required for keeping SPS.

2. Got a VERY hardy SPS like a Montipora Digitata and placed it on the bottom. After a few hours took note of polyp extension. Polyps were open and flowing in the current 'happily'. So I knew the water was ok, just as the test kits showed. Usually if something is off with the water it will be the first thing the coral reacts negatively to.

3. After about three days noticed the color was intensifying/brightening on the digi. PLaced it a little higher in the tank: about 3 inches.

4. After a few more days Coral went from pink to red and was very 'radient.' So that was my starting position. Gave me a feel for how far down the par from my bulbs reached, in this case on a 125Long three inches from the bottom easily supported a medium light requiring coral.

5. Got a green slimer and a few acros that I cant remember the name of. Placed them about 5 inches up from the bottom since they were already under high intensity bulbs at the lfs.