PDA

View Full Version : Question on TDS


chrislPa
07/24/2012, 12:37 AM
My TDS reading out of the RO/DI unit is 0 going into my storage container (brute trash can). Coming out of that same can is 36. I also check my newly made saltwater container which I hadn't added any salt yet and that was 356. Coming out of the faucet the TDS are only 137. How is all of this possible. I hope you can help me understand this. Thanks for the help.

Buckeye Hydro
07/24/2012, 04:35 AM
Nearly any contamination will change the TDS reading. Remember that you are reading in parts per million - these meters are very sensitive!

ANY contamination, including dust, will change the TDS reading. Any salt residue in your container will significantly affect the reading.

Just as a side note - the TDS in your aquarium is somewhere between 35,000 and 45,000 ppm.

Russ

chrislPa
07/24/2012, 11:05 AM
So are you saying that as long as its 0 out of the unit all is good?

Buckeye Hydro
07/24/2012, 11:25 AM
The unit is doing its job.

Check to make sure you are not getting TDS added in some way that's a concern.

chrislPa
07/24/2012, 11:27 AM
I wouldn't know where else they are coming from. I have lids on everything. Thank you for your help.

Buckeye Hydro
07/24/2012, 12:00 PM
Maybe its time to clean your reservoir(s).

Russ

chrislPa
07/24/2012, 12:05 PM
Oops....sorry I just posted that same question in the forums. I assume vinegar/water and let it dry. I would like to thank you so much for your time.

Buckeye Hydro
07/24/2012, 12:31 PM
Vinegar is an acid and will help dissolve and mineral deposits.