PDA

View Full Version : Ready to get a tank but not sure how to get started! Help please!

XxMandaMariexX
07/27/2012, 04:25 PM
I'm new to everything and do not know much about saltwater aquariums so I wanted to get some recommendations on what to start out with. The main fish I want in my aquarium are the clownfish I am supposed to be getting a 65 gallon tank! Just would like to know what other fish are good to put with clowns and what corals and all to also start out with! If anyone could please help that would be great!

SaltyWenStirred
07/27/2012, 04:30 PM
I went to Amazon.com and bought some books on reef aquariums for $3-$4 each used. I'm just getting started too. I feel for you. There are so many people with so many opinions and some of them differ so it makes it confusing for someone new. I've been reading the stickies written by experienced tank owners on this forum, and they seem to have some good information too.

chrisfont23
07/27/2012, 04:41 PM
I think the best thing anyone would tell you is to have patience and go slow. There are tons of posts and such on this forum to guide you as well as the folks that "have been there." To answer your questions, the easiest corals are leathers or mushrooms. Something like a Kenya tree or colt coral is a good beginner a is any mushroom. A riccordea will give you nice color and is an easy mushroom to keep. Both leathers and mushrooms don't require a ton of light, a lot of flow and can tolerate some dirty water. As for the fish, it seems most people go with clowns or damsels to start. I hate both choices since clowns are suaually boght in pairs and damsels are a pain in the end...in the end :) I would go with something peaceful like a Bangaii Cardinal or a Royal Gramma. They both have good personalities, don't grow too big and IME, accept most types of foods.

HTH

Chaotic Reefer4u
07/27/2012, 06:24 PM