PDA

View Full Version : Ordered sodium bicarbonate rather than sodium carbonate

marc nichols
07/27/2012, 07:58 PM
I've been using 2 part recipe 1 for about 8 years and inadvertently ordered sodium bicarbonate (recipe 2). My PH runs 8.2-8.3, so there is the PH issue. Then I noticed that recipe 2 uses approximate half as much CA in the mix. What does this do to the dosing requirements? This is looking like a road I don't want to go down...and no, I'm unwilling to bake the bicarb...it's summer and hot enough.Ugh!

tmz
07/27/2012, 09:08 PM
Bicarbonate is HCO3; Carbonate is CO3. CO3 has room for two H protons to attach before it becomes H2O3, carbonic acid. So, carbonate neutralizes twice as much H=, thus affording twice the alk bicarbonate does.

If you like you can turn the sodium bicarbonate into sodium carbonate by baking it at 350 F for one hour.

bertoni
07/27/2012, 11:23 PM
The dosing requirement likely will go up if you use the sodium bicarbonate, possibly by a factor of two. Since the lower pH might reduce calcium and carbonate consumption, you'll have to do some measurements to see what happens.

Mytinysea
07/27/2012, 11:36 PM
Personally an hour of baking it sounds like it would be worth it.

tonyf
07/28/2012, 12:34 AM
Marc, I've recently switched to sodium carbonate from sodium bicarbonate ... prefer the slightly improved pH which is now more easily maintained in the range 8.25-8.4. Also helps overcome the effects of dosing vinegar.

Saving that I've found in carbonate vs bicarbonate is approximately 1/3 for a given solution.

tmz
07/28/2012, 12:34 AM
Many use arm and hammer baking soda( food grade sodium bicarbonate) and bake it or not depending on the the goal.

tmz
07/28/2012, 12:42 AM
Probably less than 1/2. Somewhere around 40% ofthe amount of bicarbonate in carbonate to account for removal of the roughly 20% water volume when you bake it. Randy's recipes account for these things