PDA

View Full Version : Introduction and a few questions

speedjunkie
08/16/2012, 01:52 PM
Hello everyone!

My name is Ed and I am new to the saltwater side of the hobby and have not had any tank in 15 or so years.

Right now I am in the early stages of planning and acquiring parts for a reef build. I am thinking I want to go with a 40 gallon breeder and when the time is right pickup a 20L for a sump.

I feel this is a large enough system to not have too much difficulty maintaining and still small enough to not kill my wallet trying to light and stock the system.

I am planning on a DIY route for the stand and a canopy. My reasoning is that I can custom design with expandabilty in mind.

Right now I am looking to pull the trigger on a Deep Blue 40 Breeder (would have them order a Non-Tempered one). I admit I have been looking at the 30 RR Cube they have but not sure I want to give up the extra volume. Any personal feedback on these tanks?

If I go with the breeder I think I want to go ahead and drill for overflow and return and put bulkheads with plugs in them before I setup the tank. My thought with this is I can setup the tank sooner and start the cycle and maybe add a fish or two before I have the funds to complete the overflow and sump setup. If I have preinstalled the bulkheads I don't have to do much other than drain a little water in order to do the overflow. Any reason someone would advise againt this?

I think I want to go LEDs due to bulbs/heat. I am not sure if I want to go the SPS route yet or not so I have a bunch of research in that department still. I am also still deciding what fish and what order I want to stock.

I know this post is pretty long and most of this has probably been covered before but I appericate any suggestions and insight. I have been reading the forum for hours on end but there really is just so much information.

Thanks,
Ed

PAnanoguy
08/16/2012, 02:55 PM