PDA

View Full Version : Overflow Idea

bubba3085
08/16/2012, 04:45 PM
I am new to salt water and am currently lurking the forums trying to design my first setup. I am trying to be as patient as possible so I buy equipment that will last and work the first time. Typically I rush into hobbies and waste money; being that this stuff can get expensive I am trying to learn as much as possible and I would love some feedback on what I have come up with for my overflow.

I found a lot of old threads about a PVC "coast-to-coast" and I really like the idea and how low profile it looks in the tank. When painted to match the back wall it virtually disappears. Being that I am building a 29 gallon display I don't need a crazy amount of flow but I figured I would run two overflows; one siphoning and the other surface skimming. I will put a ball valve on the siphon in order to control the amount of water being handled by the surface skimming overflow. I haven't purchased anything yet so if this is a terrible idea for any reason please let me know. Typically the cons I've read about this kind of overflow are that they are noisy when handling too much water which shouldn't be a problem here. The tank will be in my living room so quiet and clean (i.e. no wires or pipes) is what I am shooting for. With a rimless tank and no hood I am going to have to get creative to keep it as clean as possible.

Any feedback is greatly appreciated. :beer:

bubba3085
08/16/2012, 06:32 PM
Maybe if I share some knowledge you'll be more likely to share with me.

Here is a great video about O2. You'll learn something or your money back.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7IkMg9cWk40&feature=youtube_gdata_player

TundraGuy
08/17/2012, 07:49 AM