PDA

View Full Version : Overflow causing large air bubbles in sump

Nerc
08/18/2012, 11:46 PM
Should my overflow drain be fully submerged in my sump? It's pushing out some large air bubbles. I've got bubble traps so my display is clear, its more about the noise and fear of back pressure.

AliciaP
08/18/2012, 11:48 PM
I keep mine just so they flow into a filter sock. They are rigged up a little bit, laying funny so they don't actually go into the water because I can't stand those bubbles. It doesn't seem to be harmful, but I rather have the water fall our freely.

Wharf
08/18/2012, 11:56 PM
I'm also new to the salty side. After loads of research i put my outlet about 2 inches into the water just about 2 inches above my live rock rubble. This has made my sump reasonably quiet. The live rock seems to defuse the bubbles and i don't seem to have any back pressure at all. Not sure if that's right? but seems ok to me.

mfinn
08/19/2012, 09:05 AM
My return goes almost all the way to the bottom of my sump.
If your getting too much noise and bubbles, slow down the flow through the sump.

Mavrk
08/19/2012, 09:52 AM
What size overflow and return pump do you have? Try reducing the flow from your return. I changed over to a Herbie and highly recommend it.

OKDOHK
08/19/2012, 10:03 AM
My drainage is submerged goes into a filter sock. No noise and the filter sock will take care of any potential bubbles.

Nerc
08/19/2012, 11:14 AM
I'm using an AGA Overflow Kit with a Mag 7 return. 1" drain 3/4" return

jimmyj7090
08/19/2012, 11:48 AM
Try googling "reverse duroso". They are good for reducing bubbles, splashing, and noise.

Nerc
08/19/2012, 11:56 AM