PDA

View Full Version : Garf Purple Bonsai not opening polyps after 20 days

Dexters Reef
08/21/2012, 01:59 PM
Hi,

I am new to SPS and looking for a little advice on my Garf Purple Bonsai. I cannot get the polyps to open, and don’t know where to place it to make it happy. I know some of my parameters are off, but despite this my tri color birdsnest acro has purple polyps out all the time. I am working on correcting my Calc, Alk, and Mag and am waiting on my Bulk Reef Supply Dosing kit to come in the mail this week (2 dosing pumps, and mixtures for Calc, Alk, and Mag.)

My Calc and Alk are off due to expired kits (3-4 years old, but unopened so I thought I could trust them) that were giving me inaccurate readings…test kits telling me Alk is 4-5dKh, spent days of dosing baking soda, test kits telling me Alk is still 5-6…didn’t trust the test kits anymore…bought new Salifert kits, found out my Alk was at 14.5! Digital Calcium reader was telling me my Calcium was 600+, so I didn’t dose Calcium, read bad reviews on my checker, bought Salifert Calcium test kit, found out Calcium was under 400….Ugh! Magnesium was low and I won’t have the additives until the BRS kit comes in. This all may be contributing to the Bonsai polyps not opening, I am not sure. The birdsnest polyps lead me to think otherwise.

Regarding the Birdsnest (my only other SPS) it went through some RTN during this process, and I lost about 40% of it. It also turned tannish brown, but I have been working on correcting my levels slowly, and the color has come back, and it is starting to grow back in the areas that peeled off. It will take time to return to its original state, but the good news is that even on the bleached parts, there are still polyps that are purple and out all the time.