PDA

View Full Version : what would be a good LPS for a clown host?

DarthNater
09/02/2012, 07:50 PM
i want to have some clowns in the tank i want to set up. i am new to the hobby as far as salt water. so i dont think an anemone would be good for me to try right off the get. any suggestions? Thanks in advance.
Nate

betamed
09/02/2012, 08:03 PM
frogspawn, torch, hammer coral are all great.

Dapg8gt
09/02/2012, 08:08 PM
FWIW my clowns killed a few colonies of hammer and a big torch. At the moment they are destroying my last colony of hammers. They now have there eyes on my pearl bubble coral. Some clowns are brutal when they spawn some are not. Mine have been around for a long time so I just have to adapt and no have anything with swaying tentacles. I wanna try to get a bug fuzzy shroom and hope they take it as a host. All stated in previous post have the potential it's really up to the clowns in the end though those are all good options.

DarthNater
09/02/2012, 08:11 PM
i heard that maroons are the most aggressive so i will probly go with tank bred false perc's.

Fretfreak13
09/02/2012, 08:58 PM
Most aggressive to other fish, yes. Not necessarily to their hosts.

Keep in mind that clowns have a symbiotic relationship with anemones, which are not a coral. Some clowns get confused and host other things when an anemone is not available to them, but it may not be what you what them to host if they even host at all. My last pair of clownfish hosted my powerhead. The pair before that did host in a frogspawn but it constantly stung them and they had little black sting marks all over them all the time. What I'm getting at is that you may buy a coral that looks like an anemone to us, but to a clown it will look like what it is...a coral. They may not touch it.

DarthNater
09/02/2012, 10:23 PM