PDA

View Full Version : Finally got a good picture of my monster bristle worm, is this a bad one?

seminoleFLreef
09/11/2012, 04:07 AM
I was doing a water change last night and happened to see a bristle worm that I havent been able to see other than the first half inch.... and...

this thing is MUCH bigger than I thought it was.

The red color made me wonder if this was a bad bristle worm, I remember reading years back that there was one version that was best to remove from the tank.

So how about this one?

http://sbnhosting.com/saltwater/worm.jpg

shaggss
09/11/2012, 04:50 AM
WOW, that's a good one! I'm no expert but I'm sure he is fine....

toromp
09/11/2012, 05:07 AM
Never heard of the red ones ..but this one is a decent size!!

A buddy of mine had one that was 14"+! He saw it when he was breaking down a tank.. talk about scary!

d2mini
09/11/2012, 06:14 AM
Someone needs to post pics of the REALLY big ones.
Not these little babies. ;)

RyanSweatt2004
09/11/2012, 06:17 AM
I always pull them any time I ever see them. Only reason is I hate getting stuck with their spines. It makes my fingers swell up and burn for days.

Teamreef
09/11/2012, 06:27 AM
I would pull the real big one

Psirex
09/11/2012, 06:28 AM
I have one in my sump\refugeium that is about 6 inches... I will try to grab a decent pic the next time I clean it (he may be 12" by then)

seminoleFLreef
09/11/2012, 06:32 AM
What you can see of him there in the pic is about 10 inches... I bet he can stretch to 14

SNAKEMANVET
09/11/2012, 06:44 AM
It should be ok in your dt,if you not comfortable with it throw in the sump.

barriosman
09/11/2012, 06:53 AM
Why would you want to pull it? What are down sides to large bristle worms? I have two or three decent size ones in my DT. Should I be concerned?

rhdoug
09/11/2012, 07:26 AM
Great scavenger! Good animal for the tank.

Dream2aReef
09/11/2012, 07:31 AM
Great scavenger! Good animal for the tank.

+1 just watch your fingers.

seminoleFLreef
09/11/2012, 07:42 AM