PDA

View Full Version : Fewer byproducts with kalk vs 2 part?

jeremy K
09/20/2012, 07:13 AM
I have been dosing 2 part (BRS recipe 1) for several years. Lately I have noticed a decline in the health of my SPS and am trying to find out why (in spite of all my parameters measuring ideal).

One thought I had was that it might be due to byproducts of the 2 part (chlorides, sulfates, etc) given that I only do monthly water changes. I thought that perhaps all the extra ions may build up in the solution undetected, since my water changes are infrequent.

In this regard, is kalk dosing better than 2 part? Would there be fewer garbage ions and byproducts that way?

screamingibis
09/20/2012, 07:44 AM
I do 10 percent water change once per week and a 30 percent water change once every two months. I also dose kalk in the ATO and dose two part. I was reading JPmagyar's thread on his 240 and he changes a lot of water. I think something like 150 gallons on a 240 weekly. Now I'll have to go back and re-read the post.

Hpefully others will chime in since I'm interested in their answers as well.

MetroKat
09/20/2012, 08:18 AM
SPS need really good water quality, once a month WC are not enough. Swish the surface of your water with your fingers, do the bubbles that form burst quickly or take a little bit of time? If they take time, you have a high nutrient load in your water, you need to skim heavily and do weekly water changes.

jeremy K
09/20/2012, 08:30 AM
SPS need really good water quality, once a month WC are not enough. Swish the surface of your water with your fingers, do the bubbles that form burst quickly or take a little bit of time? If they take time, you have a high nutrient load in your water, you need to skim heavily and do weekly water changes.