PDA

View Full Version : Just started my first salt tank - Have some questions!

Chris in NC
09/23/2012, 08:58 PM
Really excited to have started my first salt tank today! :celeb1: I have a lot of experience with fresh water, specifically with Cichlids.

I bought a 29 gallon BioCube. Filled it with 20 lbs of live sand, 26 lbs of live rock & RO saltwater.

I asked a ton of questions at my LFS, and I still have a ton more! :fun5:

I know that I need to let the tank cycle before adding anything else... However, I've read WAY to many opinions on what to do while it's cycling & could use some clarification:

-Lights on or off during the cycling process?

-Filtration on off during cycling process?

-OK to let it just run now with the live sand & rock, or do I really need to add a raw shrimp to speed it along?

-Are water changes necessary during the cycling process?

-Any tips that you might want to share?

Thanks, and looking forward to being a productive member here! :wavehand:

-Chris

bnumair
09/23/2012, 09:09 PM
Really excited to have started my first salt tank today! :celeb1: I have a lot of experience with fresh water, specifically with Cichlids.

I bought a 29 gallon BioCube. Filled it with 20 lbs of live sand, 26 lbs of live rock & RO saltwater.

I asked a ton of questions at my LFS, and I still have a ton more! :fun5:

I know that I need to let the tank cycle before adding anything else... However, I've read WAY to many opinions on what to do while it's cycling & could use some clarification:

-Lights on or off during the cycling process?

-Filtration on off during cycling process?

-OK to let it just run now with the live sand & rock, or do I really need to add a raw shrimp to speed it along?

-Are water changes necessary during the cycling process?

-Any tips that you might want to share?

Thanks, and looking forward to being a productive member here! :wavehand:

-Chris

1. lights off during cycle.
2. filteration on always.
3. raw shrimp to kick start cycle.