PDA

View Full Version : Overfeeding mantis shrimp?

nmotz
10/01/2012, 07:56 AM
All,

So I've owned my new Peacock Mantis Shrimp for a total of 3 days now and it has been a lot of fun already. But, I'm a beginner, and even though these little guys are pretty easy to take care of, I have a noob question.

Is it possible to overfeed a mantis shrimp? I know you can kill fish like that, but I have literally no experience taking care of a tank of any kind, fresh or marine.
The reason I ask is because he ate about 15 feeder shrimp and one turbo snail in 2 days (Fri night - Sunday night). I know they will kill anything that gets near them, and they usually eat what they kill, so should I make sure there are no more feeder shrimp swimming about after he has gorged like that?

Honestly, after he ate about 6-7 feeder shrimp on Friday night, he went out hunting and killed a few more feeder shrimp on Saturday morning. A few minutes later, he deliberately left his burrow and went over to the turbo snail which was on another piece of LR, plucked it off, took it to his burrow, and smashed it into oblivion. While he was still eating the snail, he killed and ate another feeder shrimp that drifted too close to his burrow. Was he starving because the fish store staff didn't feed him very much? Is it normal for them to eat that much?

He has attacked everything, whether it moves or not. He has hit the glass multiple times, and the heater. His first order of business upon becoming acquainted with his surroundings was to destroy his thermometer, which he did in one blow. The kerosene from the thermometer went everywhere. I did like 3 water changes to remove it all and I still think there is some left in the tank. I can't believe he's not dead! Crazy shrimp.

TundraGuy
10/01/2012, 08:22 AM
LOL this is too good to be read only once.