PDA

View Full Version : Tropic Marin pro cloudy and alk at 5, what gives?

aharrow
10/21/2012, 07:25 PM
So I got two buckets of tropic Marin pro from a fellow reefer moving out of town. One is unopened the other 90 percent full. I usd the 90 percent full to make up some water. My vat is 60 gallon with a mag 9 pump. I've been doing it this way for five years and never an issues.

I usually test my mixed water before doing a water change. It tested,
Ca 420
Salinity 1.026
Mag 1410
Temp 78
Alk 5.3

Water is completely cloudy.

Test kits used salifert alk my old and brand new kit, both tested 5.3
Red sea tested 5.1

Thoughts ?

dcforester1
10/21/2012, 09:23 PM
That is the exact reason i stopped using them at the beginning of the summer. I had noticed some issues, and another reefer I know was having the same issues. I am now using Red Sea with 0 issues

coralsnaked
10/22/2012, 09:02 AM
Yes Tropic Marin seems to have a cloudy issue when mixing sometimes and can leave a haze on glass. I have used TM for years and am now moving towards Kent because of better mixing quality, less haze and higher element values that I like wheni mix to 1.025 SG.

Not sure if TM has changesd their production methods are what, but I have noticed the cloudiness on and off for about 6 months.

Merry Skerry

bertoni
10/22/2012, 11:01 AM
Well, the water might be safe to use after you dose up the dKH. I'm not sure what's happening. We see a lot of reports of problems with salt products.

aharrow
10/22/2012, 02:19 PM
I did some more research on it and some other reefers said there could be a settling issue if the salt has been sitting for awhile. I am going to take it out the bucket and thoroughly mix the dry salt before making the next batch.

Just checked the vat and it is still cloudy. The pump is covered in a white film. I can brush the film off so it hasn't hardened. Might throw out this batch and try again

bertoni
10/22/2012, 06:16 PM