PDA

View Full Version : Couple Apex Questions


NaH2Ofreak
12/09/2012, 10:11 AM
First of all, how do I get some sort of desktop icon or something to click on to pull up my controller as opposed to having to keep typing in the ip address in the browser bar?

Second of all, is there some sort of desktop widget or something that contoniously posts the apex's status? Ie, I don't want to have to keep pulling the controller up via the browser.

I know these are probably very basic questions but, this controller has been A LOT of work for me to set up. Im not an IT guy and the controller I replaced with the apex was the ACJr from probably 8-9 years ago. I think I should have bought the display to go w/the apex jr but thought it would be easy...boy was I wrong. Anyways, any and all help is appriciated.

Thanks
Dennis

aquamanic
12/09/2012, 11:25 AM
Just save it / bookmark it in your browser

Look at Ken's site (kenargo.com) - he has a Win 7 widget that does what you want.

NaH2Ofreak
12/09/2012, 11:32 AM
Ok...thanks for the saving it in browser...duh. What can I say...Im old.

Dennis

NaH2Ofreak
12/09/2012, 11:41 AM
I don't see the win7 widget. I see one for vista which I tried using but, it won't connect. There is one for a window's phone but, when trying to download it, it says I need a windows phone.

Thanks again,
Dennis

NaH2Ofreak
12/09/2012, 11:42 AM
I don't see the win7 widget. I see one for vista which I tried using but, it won't connect. There is one for a window's phone but, when trying to download it, it says I need a windows phone.

Thanks again,
Dennis

rbirling
12/09/2012, 12:17 PM
If you want an icon on your windows desktop:

Right click on desktop
select New>Shortcut
Enter http://apex
Enter a name for the icon
Done! :-)

NaH2Ofreak
12/09/2012, 12:30 PM
Ya, that's another thing, I can access nothing with the "http://apex" command. I need to use the 198.162.1.50 address to access it in my browser.

aquamanic
12/09/2012, 01:43 PM
I don't see the win7 widget.

Use the third one Ken lists on his site, the one you download from Microsoft. I run Win7 with that gadget and it works fine.

Now keep in mind, any of these software tools assume you have access working to your controller - local and remote.

rbirling
12/09/2012, 04:22 PM
You can still create an icon and type in: http://198.162.1.50 :-)

Ya, that's another thing, I can access nothing with the "http://apex" command. I need to use the 198.162.1.50 address to access it in my browser.

NaH2Ofreak
12/09/2012, 04:27 PM
Ok...I can not find the "gadget" that aquamanic is refering to. The third link down on Ken's page is some "simulator". Anyways, when I go to download the gadget which I believe is the right one, the window's website says it does not do gadgets anymore. When I go to download the "local" file, it says it is "not a valid gadget package.". I think maybe his website is full of old links. Not sure.

Thanks everyone for your help. I sincerely appreciate it.

Dennis

NaH2Ofreak
12/09/2012, 04:28 PM
oops. double post.

RussM
12/09/2012, 05:02 PM
Aquamanic made a typo. You want the Vista gadget. Right-click on the link then save as... Save it in your downloads folder.

Go to your downloads folder and double-click the file you downloaded.

NaH2Ofreak
12/09/2012, 05:20 PM
Ok. I did that. I get the little widget in the top right corner and it just says "Updated Never". Then, after a while it just says "timed out".

Dennis

RussM
12/09/2012, 07:16 PM
Did you configure it with Apex IP address and login info?

NaH2Ofreak
12/09/2012, 08:40 PM
Yes. I used the 198.168.1.50:80 and the default "admin" and "1234".

Dennis